Summer 2018 Schedule

Topics subject to changes to accommodate needs of trainees, instructors, and guest speakers.

Weekend 1:
Friday, June 1,10:30am- 5:30pm
Saturday, June 2, noon- 8:00pm
Sunday, June 3, noon- 8:00pm

Opening Circle/Introductions
Yoga Philosophy: History of Prenatal Yoga
General Anatomy & Physiology of Pregnancy
Sequencing - Part 1 (Pregnancy)
Alignment and Modifications by Trimester - Part 1 (Pregnancy)
Prenatal Yoga Class Observation and Discussion
Contraindications: Science vs. Cultural beliefs and Myths

Weeknight 1:
Monday, June 11, 6:00- 9:00pm

Phyllis Klaus: Prenatal and Postpartum Psychology & Maternal/ Infant Bonding

Weekend 2:
Friday, June 15, 2:00- 9:00pm
Saturday, June 16, noon- 8:00pm

Yogic and Related Techniques for Optimal Fetal Positioning
Easing Common Discomforts of Pregnancy through Yoga Practice
Inclusive and Empowering Language
Pelvic Floor: Healthy Practices for Pregnancy and Beyond
Practice Teaching

Weeknight 2:
Tuesday, June 26, 7:00- 9:00pm

Henci Goer: Optimal Care in Childbirth: What it is and how to get it

Weekend 3:
Friday, June 29, 2:00- 9:00pm
Saturday, June 30, 10:30am- 6:30pm

Application of Classical Yoga Philosophy
Mom & Baby Yoga Class Observation and Discussion
The Fourth Trimester
Sequencing - Part 2 (Postpartum)
Practice Teaching

Weekend 4:
Friday, July 13, 2:00- 9:00pm
Saturday, July 14, noon- 8:00pm

Alignment and Modifications- Part 2 (Postpartum)
Application of Various Styles of Yoga to Prenatal (vinyasa, restorative, yin, etc.)
Meditation/Relaxation Techniques (Yoga Nidra)
Nutrition
Business of Teaching Prenatal Yoga
Creating Your Class, cont.
Practice Teaching
Closing Circle