Summer 2019 Schedule

Topics subject to changes to accommodate needs of trainees, instructors, and guest speakers.

Weekend 1:
Friday, January 25,10:30am- 5:30pm
Saturday, January 26, noon- 8:00pm
Sunday, January 27, noon- 8:00pm

Opening Circle/Introductions
Yoga Philosophy: History of Prenatal Yoga
General Anatomy & Physiology of Pregnancy
Sequencing - Part 1 (Pregnancy)
Alignment and Modifications by Trimester - Part 1 (Pregnancy)
Prenatal Yoga Class Observation and Discussion
Contraindications: Science vs. Cultural beliefs and Myths

Weekend 2:
Friday, February 8, 2:00- 9:00pm
Saturday,February 9, noon- 8:00pm

Yogic and Related Techniques for Optimal Fetal Positioning
Easing Common Discomforts of Pregnancy through Yoga Practice
Inclusive and Empowering Language
Phyllis Klaus: Prenatal and Postpartum Psychology & Maternal/ Infant Bonding
Pelvic Floor: Healthy Practices for Pregnancy and Beyond

Practice Teaching

Weekend 3:
Friday, March 1, 2:00- 9:00pm
Saturday, March 2, noon- 8:00pm

Application of Classical Yoga Philosophy
Henci Goer:
Optimal Care in Childbirth: What it is and how to get it
Mom & Baby Yoga Class Observation and Discussion
The Fourth Trimester
Sequencing - Part 2 (Postpartum)
Practice Teaching

Weekend 4:
Friday, March 15, 2:00- 9:00pm
Saturday, March 16, noon- 8:00pm
Sunday, March 17, noon- 5:00pm

Alignment and Modifications- Part 2 (Postpartum)
Application of Various Styles of Yoga to Prenatal (vinyasa, restorative, yin, etc.)
Meditation/Relaxation Techniques (Yoga Nidra)
Nutrition
Business of Teaching Prenatal Yoga
Creating Your Class, cont.
Practice Teaching
Closing Circle